Love New Zealand
Love Everything New Zealand!

About Ruapehu New Zealand

Ruapehu is a district located in the central North Island of New Zealand. The main settlements in the Ruapehu District are the ski towns of National Park and Ohakune, the army town of Waiouru and the rural service centre of Taumarunui.

The Ruapehu region is home to the Tongariro National Park, the Whanganui National Park and the Whanganui River.

Ruapehu is a popular tourist destination, with a huge range of activities including hiking, fishing, kayaking, canoeing, horse riding and mountain biking.

Mount Ruapehu

Mount Ruapehu is an active strato-volcano located at the southern end of the Taupo Volcanic Zone, within the Tongariro National Park. Mt Ruapehu is home to the North Island's major skifields and only glaciers. Whakapapa Ski Field is located on the northern side, and Turoa Ski Field is located on the southern slope.

Ruapehu is the largest active volcano in New Zealand and the highest point in the North Island. Tahurangi, Te Heuheu and Paretetaitonga are the highest peaks.


There are many parks, gardens, historic houses, museums and other places of interest in and around Ruapehu, New Zealand.

Popular attractions in Ruapehu include Mt Ruapehu, Tongairiro National Park, Tongariro Crossing, The Raurimu Spiral and the Whanganui National Park.

» Ruapehu Attractions

» Ruapehu Things to Do

Did you Know?

Aotearoa is the Māori name for New Zealand. It means ‘land of the long white cloud’.