Love New Zealand

2017 Public Holiday dates

2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018

The following public holidays are observed throughout New Zealand. Be aware that many businesses and attractions are closed on public holidays, and those that are open may charge a surcharge. Accommodations tend to be booked out long in advance of public holidays, so early planning is advised.

Holiday Date
New Year's Day Sunday 1 January or Tuesday 3 January
Day after New Year's Day Monday 2 January
Waitangi Day Monday 6 February
Good Friday Friday 14 April
Easter Monday Monday 17 April
ANZAC Day Tuesday 25 April
Queen's Birthday Monday 5 June
Labour Day Monday 23 October
Christmas Day Monday 25 December
Boxing Day Tuesday 26 December

Province Holidays

Province Anniversary Days:

Province Date
Auckland Monday 30 January
Taranaki Monday 13 March
Hawke's Bay Friday 20 October
Wellington Monday 23 January
Marlborough Monday 30 October
Nelson Monday 30 January
Canterbury Friday 17 November
Canterbury (South) Monday 25 September
Westland Monday 4 December
Otago Monday 20 March
Southland Tuesday 18 April
Chatham Islands Monday 27 November