Love New Zealand

2019 Public Holiday dates

2018 | 2019 | 2020

The following public holidays are observed throughout New Zealand for 2019. Be aware that many businesses and attractions are closed on public holidays, and those that are open may charge a surcharge. Accommodations tend to be booked out long in advance of public holidays, so early planning is advised. If a public holiday falls on a weekend (ie Saturday or Sunday), the holiday is observed the next working day (ie Monday).

Public holidays are observed throughout New Zealand and many businesses, along with schools and tertiary educations, will be closed on these days.

Holiday Date
New Year's Day Tuesday 1 January
Day after New Year's Day Wednesday 2 January
Waitangi Day Wednesday 6 February
Good Friday Friday 19 April
Easter Monday Monday 22 April
ANZAC Day Thursday 25 April
Queen's Birthday Monday 3 June
Labour Day Monday 28 October
Christmas Day Wednesday 25 December
Boxing Day Thursday 26 December

Province Holidays

Provincial Anniversary Days are treated as public holidays, but only observed and recognised by the individual region. Many businesses will close on their provincial holiday.

Province Date
Auckland Monday 28 January
Taranaki Monday 11 March
Hawke's Bay Friday 25 October
Wellington Monday 21 January
Marlborough Monday 4 November
Nelson Monday 4 February
Canterbury Friday 15 November
Canterbury (South) Monday 23 September
Westland Monday 2 December
Otago Monday 25 March
Southland Tuesday 23 April
Chatham Islands Monday 2 December