Love New Zealand

2020 Public Holiday dates

2018 | 2019 | 2020

The following public holidays are observed throughout New Zealand for 2020. Be aware that many businesses and attractions are closed on public holidays, and those that are open may charge a surcharge. Accommodations tend to be booked out long in advance of public holidays, so early planning is advised. If a public holiday falls on a weekend day (ie Saturday or Sunday), the holiday is observed the next working day (ie Monday).

Holiday Date
New Year's Day Wednesday 1 January
Day after New Year's Day Thursday 2 January
Waitangi Day Thursday 6 February
Good Friday Friday 10 April
Easter Monday Monday 13 April
ANZAC Day Staurday 25 April
Queen's Birthday Monday 1 June
Labour Day Monday 26 October
Christmas Day Friday 25 December
Boxing Day Saturday 26 December

Province Holidays

Provincial Anniversary Days are treated as public holidays, but only observed and recognised by the individual region. Many businesses will close on their provincial holiday.

Province Date
Auckland Monday 27 January
Taranaki Monday 9 March
Hawke's Bay Friday 23 October
Wellington Monday 20 January
Marlborough Monday 2 November
Nelson Monday 3 February
Canterbury Friday 13 November
Canterbury (South) Monday 28 September
Westland Monday 30 November
Otago Monday 23 March
Southland Tuesday 14 April
Chatham Islands Monday 30 November